• Blog
  • Latest News
  • IRS Announces Tax Relief for Washington State Mudslide and Flooding Victims

IRS Announces Tax Relief for Washington State Mudslide and Flooding Victims

Read the Article

On April 4th the IRS announced that victims of the recent Washington State floods and mudslides will have until October 15 to file their 2013 individual and business tax returns and pay any taxes due.

What Washington taxpayers are eligible for relief?

Following last weeks Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster declaration, Washington residents receiving this benefit and other special relief include those in:

  • Snohomish County
  • Sauk-Suiattle
  • Stillaguamish
  • Tulalip tribes

This extension also offers additional disaster relief by extending the:

  • April 15th deadline for making 2013 contributions to IRAs
  • April 15th, June 16th, September 15th deadlines for making quarterly estimated tax payments
  • April 30th and July 31 deadlines for quarterly payroll and excise tax returns

The IRS will also abate any interest, late payments, or late filing penalties that would normally apply.  You don’t need to do anything if you live in any of the affected areas.  The IRS will automatically provide relief to you if your IRS address of record is located in these disaster areas.

The IRS will also work with you if you live outside the disaster area but your records necessary to meet the tax deadline are located in the areas that were declared a disaster area.

This is also a great time to help those in need.  If you would like to help the victims of the tragic mudslides, you can visit the American Red Cross.

4 responses to “IRS Announces Tax Relief for Washington State Mudslide and Flooding Victims”

  1. I live in the town of Darrington, with the zip code 98241. Does the ruling give me an automatic extension to October 15 for filing my income taxes, and do I have to do anything to actually receive the extension?

    • Hi Don, if you live in Snohomish county, you don’t need to file an extension. The IRS says that when they receive your return, they will automatically provide relief from late interest and penalties based on your address being located in this county.

      Hope this answers your question.

    • Hi,
      Yes, per the IRS affected taxpayers in Snohomish County, including the Sauk-Suiattle, Stillaguamish and Tulalip tribes, will receive an extension.
      Thank you,
      Lisa Greene-Lewis

Leave a Reply