IRS Extends Tax Deadline for Taxpayers affected by the Northeast Floods


The IRS is extending a helping hand to residents of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, West Virginia and New Jersey that have been affected by the recent flooding.  The fedreal government declared several counties in these states a national disaster area.  If you are living in one of these counties the IRS has extended your federal tax filing deadline to May 11th to:

  • File their federal and state income tax returns, whether e-filed or mailed.
  • Make quarterly estimated payments normally due on April 15.
  • Contribute to an IRA for the year 2009.

Here is a list, by state, of the counties who now have extended tax filing deadlines:

Rhode Island

Federal – The IRS has extended the federal filing deadline for all residents EXCEPT Bristol County.  Residents of Bristol County must still file by the April 15th deadline.

State – The state of Rhode Island has extended the state filing deadline for ALL residents.


Federal and State – The federal and state tax filing deadlines have been extended for Bristol, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk and Worcester counties.

West Virginia

Federal and State – The federal and state tax filing deadlines have been extended for Fayette, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Mercer and Raleigh counties.

New Jersey

Federal and State – The federal and state tax filing deadlines have been extended for Atlantic, Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, and Union counties.

What you need to know if you live in one of the counties above?

If you live in a disaster are its important to know that if you experienced any personal property losses not covered by either insurance or government reimbursement you might qualify to claim them as casualty loss deductions.  The major disaster designation allows you to claim such deductions on either their 2009 or 2010 federal tax returns.  If you already filed your 2009 tax return you can amend your return to claim any casualty loss deductions you received.  If you filed your taxes with TurboTax it is free to amend your 2009 tax return.

The IRS is also waiving the fee and expedite requests for copies of past years returns for these individuals.  Just fill out Form 4506 Request for Copy of Tax Return online, print it, then write Disaster Designation in red ink at the top and submit it to the IRS. The address to mail the request is listed on the instructions below the form.

Comments (2) Leave your comment

  1. I live in a Federally declared disaster area (RI floods) and will be filing my state and federal taxes for the May 11 deadline. I read that Turbo Tax did not update their software to reflect this, so i expect to see late filing penalties. Is it possible to override the penalties in the program?

Leave a Reply to beth mcbreen Cancel reply